The Goddess Weighs In

Living Large and Healthy

Product Review 0001 – Yoga To Go

on April 25, 2012

Yoga To Go, 2002 

yoga to go

Find it here.

A year or so ago I picked up this little kit at the check out in my local gigantic book store.  According to the box it sells for $8.95 + tax Canadian, but if memory serves it was on sale for likely half of that.  In the pocket-sized box there is a yoga strap, a little instructional booklet and a deck of 25 flash cards, each depicting a different yoga pose.

What I like about the kit is that it is small and portable and easily tucks into my purse or carry on.  I also really like the idea of the cards since they can be laid out on the floor while I’m going through the various stretches or poses.  The routine appears to be designed with the beginner in mind and the instructional book reinforces that yoga is done at one’s own pace and should never hurt and it talks about the importance of breathing and listening to your body and explains each pose relatively well with tips on how best to execute each pose.

One definite drawback is that the booklet numbers the poses and it appears that they are to be done in a very specific order, however it is not specified that this is an absolute must and the cards themselves are not numbered.  I’ve used yoga straps before to assist in certain poses, for example looping it around my raised foot to allow me to to do Dancer’s pose, but according to the Yoga To Go book it is to be used to steady oneself by looping it over a beam or the like and apparently hanging on to it while doing the postures.  Alternatively it recommends using 6 feet of mariner’s rope with knots at both ends.  Admittedly I’ve been in the “beginner’s class” for years, but I’ve never heard of using a yoga strap like this.

What I would have liked to have seen are different sequences of the cards for different purposes.  For example if you are looking for a 10 minute stretch do cards A, B and C. If you want to ease your lower back discomfort try cards X, Y and Z. Similarly, a Choose-Your-Own-Adventure format would also be interesting where with a little guidance one could create a routine that mixes things up to keep it interesting and still has some flow between the different movements so that the transitions are not too choppy or cumbersome (dependent on the style of yoga one prefers as some forms are less fluid than others).

Overall for the money and convenience I like this kit and for someone wanting to get a little fitness on the go I think it’s a good alternative.

I give it 7 out of 10 goddesses.

– the Goddess

3 responses to “Product Review 0001 – Yoga To Go

  1. ivygrrrl says:

    I need to do more yoga 🙂 I think we all do! In the meantime, I found this site and it looks pretty cool! Just thought I’d share 🙂 https://www.facebook.com/yogaforroundbodies

  2. ivygrrrl says:

    And I may have to go with you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

