The Goddess Weighs In

Living Large and Healthy

Craptastic

on July 8, 2012

A disclaimer up front – this post may embarrass some.  I’m writing it and frankly I’m embarrassed, but I think it’s important so I will muddle through.

I have a few food allergies which I’ve discovered by accident over the last 10 or so years.  For a long time I had hives on my inner arms, but I didn’t associate it with chocolate until I went on a road trip and ate M&M’s the entire way and by the time I got to New Jersey I had hives on my inner arms, my inner thighs, and across my abdomen.  Apparently these areas are associated specifically with food allergies and when I cut out chocolate or cut it down to very small, infrequent servings the hives went away.  I discovered my allergies to peanut butter and tomatoes by paying attention to hive break outs as well.  I probably shouldn’t have been surprised as when I was a small child, about three years old, maybe less, my top lip swelled up to my nose and it was believed to be an allergic reaction, but even with restricting foods and adding them back gradually it wasn’t obvious to what I was reacting.

Now the embarrassing part.  In the past few years I’ve had some um, erm issues with my BM’s being a number 7 on the Bristol Scale  http://www.chirocolonics.com/stoolchart.html.  I really wasn’t sure what the issue was since other than being fat, I’m basically healthy and my yearly blood tests show nothing out of the ordinary. My blood pressure is a little high, but I’m working to bring that down by reducing salt intake and increasing exercise and relaxation. I just had this rather annoying little problem.  Then I was watching a DVD of Dr. Oz that a friend lent me and included in the episodes was Dr. Oz talking about um, oh gawd. . .poo.  It turns out that a number 7 could be a sign of food allergies.  So I started cutting back or eliminating those foods which I know give me an allergic reaction and things got a little better.  Then the same friend introduced me to Greek yogourt a week ago and within a couple of days my annoying little problem was no longer a problem.  I am not going to sing the praises of Greek yogourt though I do think that everyone needs to worry about having enough good bacteria in their digestive tracks and a little yogourt can’t hurt, but I really do feel a lot better.  So despite the fact that I presently want to die of embarrassment, I’m going to strongly recommend that you check out the chart and see where you fit and if there are issues, please pay attention to what your body is trying to tell you and take action.  Ok enough said <embarrassed grin>.

– the Goddess

 

One response to “Craptastic

  1. Amy says:

    This was a timely post as I’m going for a pelvic MRI tomorrow and a colonoscopy next month. Knowing the Bristol Scale might come in handy.

Leave a Reply

