The Goddess Weighs In

Living Large and Healthy

“Sexercise”

on July 26, 2012

A woman who was “awarded” the title “World’s Fattest Woman”  has lost weight by having lots and lots of sex.

http://www.newstrackindia.com/newsdetails/2012/07/12/309–Sexathons-helped-world-s-heaviest-woman-lose-weight.html

I’m not sure this requires comment. . .

I’ve known people who give their weight in stone, but when I looked for a definition it seemed to vary – anywhere between 8 pounds to about 14 kilograms, though if memory serves I think most people equate it to be about 14 pounds.

This woman weighed in at approximately 50 stone or 700 pounds and if my calculations are correct when she was 714 pounds she won the world’s fattest woman title.  I was sure people were bigger than that, but I suspect, sadly, that they don’t live for long when carrying that much weight, or perhaps they were men.

Anyway, what I was really thinking about when I read this article was how does one let themselves get to the point that they can no longer toilet themselves or move around in their own beds.  I am a big girl and I admit that it sneaks up on us and one day we realize we are grossly overweight and we kind of knew it, but we sort of didn’t see it happen.  I can also admit that I am not as mobile as I once was given that my weight causes me back pain and sore feet, but I still get up and go to work each day and I get myself from point A to point B and I am clean and I can go potty all by myself.  I’m not attacking this woman in anyway, but I am deeply concerned, not only because I imagine depression or similar mental illness must play a role in her allowing herself to become bed bound, but for the people around her.  It is possible that she is manipulative, either by design or out of necessity, and that that is how she continues to eat enough calories each day to maintain and potentially increase her weight but regardless of her behaviour someone in her life, someone who has taken the task of “looking after her”, is enabling her by bringing her vast quantities of food or calorie rich food.

I watched a program once about a morbidly obese man who was once a paramedic, but was now bedridden due to his weight.  Impressively or perhaps not, he was set up so that he could cook from his bed and his wife and family bought his groceries.  Eventually his health deteriorated to the point that he was hospitalized and had to be taken out of his house with special equipment.  Once in hospital he complained and carried on and attempted to manipulate others to bring him the kinds of food he wanted including snack cakes and junk food.  Sadly he died due to his excessive weight and the associated health problems.

I maintain that my weight is my business and that if I want a cookie it is no one’s business but my own, but I think if I was in a situation like this I would hope that those around me would love me enough to make the tough choices and tell me that if I want the cookie I better be able to get myself to the store to buy it, through the checkout to pay for it and back home to eat it.

– the Goddess

One response to ““Sexercise”

  1. I suspect that part of her weight problem probably stems from her lack of mobility. People don’t necessarily become immobile because of their weight, some may become fat because they have mobility issues. In any event, once you hit a point where you can’t move about well (for whatever reason) you are doomed to gain even more weight I would think. Also, there has to be some sort of medical or metabolic issue at play here. I mean, there simply are not enough hours in a day to consume enough calories to gain that kind of weight unless something else is happening. As for the enabling, it is tricky. You say you would want someone to make you go and get your own cookies but surely if you were ill and in bed or had a broken leg or something similar, you would want someone to go and buy you food and not necessarily decide that they were putting you on a diet of wheatgrass juice and sunflower seeds or something. Maybe that is how they view this situation? I really have no idea, but it is possible that it is not a lack of love, but something else at play. Frankly I was appalled by the article, but not because of the woman but because of the tone. It was very much “hey look at the fat fatty. Isn’t it hilarious that a) she is fat b) she has sex?” I thought freak shows were illegal? Tabloids and talk shows have picked up the slack I guess.

Leave a Reply

