The Goddess Weighs In

Living Large and Healthy

Halloween Costumes for Fat Girls

I am not a fan of Halloween.

I dressed up as a kid, but I hate fuss.  I hate itchy clothes and waxy make up and carrying about props.  I see people in clever costumes each year and I’m impressed, but I just don’t seem to have a creative bone in my body when it comes to these things.  As a fat girl I’m typically not an “off the rack” gal so most commercial costumes are not for me and I’m not going to make a costume which starts with a cardboard box or a large flower pot because I don’t want to make getting around any more awkward.  Also there are costumes that I’ve seen that start with sweats or a turtle neck and various bits and pieces are sewn or glued on.  For the average person, who can go to the nearest box store and pick up some inexpensive sweats of questionable quality and make themselves an inexpensive costume this is a great idea.  However, as I’ve mentioned, I’m not an off-the-rack girl, and while I can find clothing of questionable quality it’s much more expensive in my size, so I’m unlikely to glue embellishments all over it for one night of the year.

Then there is the issue of weight in general.  I could vamp it up and go all sexy and try to pull off the femme fatale look, but someone is likely going to laugh and to assume that it’s tongue in cheek since some people cannot fathom that a  fat girl could possibly be sexy.  Or I could pick a costume that plays up my weight, so to speak, and dress as the fat lady at the circus or maybe a pig.  I have been toying with the idea of donning a lab coat and a paper hat I got on a tour of the Jelly Belly Factory and going as a Jelly Bean Inspector. But frankly I don’t feel like being the clown or the butt of the joke. If a thin person put on that costume people would assume they had a sweet tooth.  If I put it on they would assume my largesse is due to constant candy eating.

This year I’ve been invited to a party in the city and I’m thinking I’m going to opt for something sexy funny and hope that people are amused for the right reasons.  I’m thinking Beauty Pageant Winner.  This entails a crown, a nice dress, no not a bathing suit thank you, and a sash that reads something like Miss Understood, or perhaps Miss Anthrope.  I must say I am leaning towards the latter.  I think I may go back to Sephora and ask them to teach me how to do sexy evening make up and I think false eyelashes will make the outfit.

So far I like this idea, but I’m not completely sold on it just yet.

I’ve been looking on the interwebs for costume ideas and I found the best and most creative costumes are for little kids.  My personal favourite was a turtle.  Wear green, a green toque and spray paint a tinfoil roasting pan like a shell and attach it to your back.  Not bad, though I’d probably ding the shell before the night was through.

These sites also had some interesting ideas:

http://costumeideazone.com/A9fCutCosts.htm

http://www.robinsfyi.com/holidays/halloween/costumes.htm

But I’m open to suggestions so if you have any ideas for my Halloween costume please let me know.

– the Goddess

2 Comments »