The Goddess Weighs In

Living Large and Healthy

Oo Ee Oo Ah Ah Ting Tang Walla Walla Bing Bang

on December 29, 2012

The Saturday before Christmas I went to a Naturopath.  I know very little about the field other than that they deal with vitamins and supplements and take an holistic  approach to health, but it’s covered by my benefits so I figured I’d give it a whirl.  Before my appointment I was asked to fill out a 5 page medical history and then I sat with the Naturopath for an hour while she asked me questions about my eating habits, my bathroom habits, which supplements I take, my health and weight goals and so on.

I told her about my concerns regarding heart health and that my blood pressure is elevated, but that I am leery to start taking medication for it and would rather deal with it through food choices, meditation and exercise.  She felt that this was doable which I appreciated hearing.  I also noted that I knew I needed to lose weight, but that at this point I would rather concentrate on heart health and hopefully the weight will start to budge as opposed to the other way around.  She was really good about this and didn’t push anything on me, and was supportive of my choice to switch to a vegan lifestyle.  We also talked about my newly discovered issues with dairy products and some of my other food issues like hives from chocolate, tomatoes and peanut butter.  When I mentioned these things to my GP the answer was a resounding “hmm” followed by nothing.  The Naturopath told me that it’s not unusual to have an allergy or sensitivity to tomatoes as they are part of the nightshade family.  We also talked about my concerns surrounding wheat.  I don’t think I have anything sinister like Celiac disease, but I do feel out of sorts when I’ve had too much bread or pasta.  I told her that I had been in the bookstore and come across a book called Wheat Belly.  She asked if I had read it and I said no just the dust jacket, but I got the gist of the book – wheat is bad.

She’s given me a bunch of handouts to read, advised me on the appropriate doses of Omega 3, vitamin D3, CoEnzyme Q10 and approved of the multivitamin I take.  She also gave me a detox list that I need to follow for a couple of weeks so that I can determine any other food sensitivities or allergies.  Interestingly enough many of my common food choices like tomatoes, peppers, mushrooms and potatoes are on the avoid list as are dairy, wheat and citrus fruits.  So for a couple of weeks I will be eating cabbage and um dust, but it will be interesting to see what comes of it.

She also asked me to up my exercise by adding in three 30 minute walks per week.  Not my favourite activity since my lower back is an issue right now, but I think it will be manageable especially since I start belly dancing lessons in another week or so which should help with the lower back issues.

I’m not sure I would recommend seeing a Naturopath at this point, but I will go back again and follow up and I’ll let you know how things are going from time to time.  If my overall health and well being improve well that will be groovy, if not well at least I tried something new.

– the Goddess

Leave a Reply

