The Goddess Weighs In

Living Large and Healthy

The Dreaded Resolution

on January 3, 2013

It’s January 3, 2013 and I still have not declared my New Year’s Resolution.

Last year I gave up diet coke and artificial sweeteners.  I’ve done pretty well with that, in that I have cut back my pop intake dramatically and wherever possible I avoid foods with artificial sweeteners like aspartame. I did give up pop completely for a while, but I didn’t enjoy the alternatives and my sleep habits are still such that I don’t get enough hours down so from time to time I need the caffeine boost.  This year I will continue to try to improve.

I’ve been reading about successful resolutions and how it’s best if they are SMART – Specific, Measurable, Attainable, Relevant and Time-sensitive (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SMART_criteria).  It also seems that those resolutions that involve adding something instead of taking something away are more successful.  For example adding more fruits and veggies instead of giving up chips.

Next week I start belly dancing classes (www.astrasdancestudio.com).  I am excited to return to the pool for aquafit this week as the pool has been closed for maintenance since mid December.  The Naturopath wants me to add three vigourous walks into my week.  I would like to add more yoga and meditation into my weekly schedule.  Food wise I will be doing some exploring to figure out various sensitivities so I’m really not sure what to add or remove so best that my resolutions do not include food.  Relationship wise I’m bopping along, and since I can’t really affect change in other people or “make” them like me I’m not sure what kind of resolution I could assign to this area of my life other than to keep putting myself out there and eventually something has to click.  Oh I also want to drink more water and get more sleep.

Ok, let’s see if I can make this SMART. . .

So 2013’s resolution:

1. My belly dancing  classes are on Thursday evenings.  I resolve to attend every week.   “I don’t feel like it.” or “I’m tired, I’ll go next week.” are just not going to fly this time.

2.  I will go to the Y for aquafit every Sunday morning.  This I’m pretty good at most of the time, but then I get busy or I’m out too late on a Saturday night and I blow it off.  As I said above these excuses are no longer permissible.

3. I will do one yoga and/or meditation once a week.  I will attempt to do this on Monday nights to make sure it gets done.

4. I will drink eight, 8oz glasses of water each day.

5. I will walk three times a week for 30 minutes.

6. I will sleep 8 hours per night, every night.

Now to make myself a chart for the fridge with construction paper and markers and stickers for each accomplishment!

(Hey whatever motivates right?)

– the Goddess

Leave a Reply

