The Goddess Weighs In

Living Large and Healthy

Bring Me My Woobie! STAT!

on January 4, 2013

I am a plague monkey.  I am coughing, sneezing, and hurting all over.  My face hurts.  My teeth hurt.  And I can’t breathe which makes sleeping with a CPAP unpleasant.  (Thankfully not impossible, but a bit gross if you sneeze unexpectedly.)

I debated going in to work today, but decided to keep my germs to myself.  As it turns out that was the best decision possible as I continued to get worse and by midday I was experiencing bouts of dizziness.

The benefit of being sick is that I was able to peruse various blogs and websites between mini naps and bouts of feeling sorry for myself.

I did a blog search on “fat” and here are some of the highlights:

There is a woman who was ranting about being stood up and how it must be because she is so fat and therefore ugly.  As I read further it would seem that she is dealing with mental illness and multiple personalities.  It struck me as odd that a woman who has over 5 different personalities in one body, plus a variety of other issues has decided that the problem is her weight.  Certainly everyone should be able to find love, but personally I think I would have reservations about dating someone who referred to herself as “us” and could talk at length about her different personas and their unique characteristics.  However, she was very clear, that fat was what made her unattractive and undesirable as a prospective partner.

I found another woman who spelled out each and every thing she put in her mouth.  I get that keeping a food diary or journal helps many people stay on track, but when what you put in your mouth takes up so much mental activity that you take the time to not only write it in your journal but then blog about it and dissect each and every choice it’s just sad.  I wanted to know if she had any fun today.  I wanted to know if she laughed with someone today.  I wanted to know if she felt love today.  And all that seemed to occupy her mind was that she shouldn’t have eaten that sausage for lunch and how it will ruin her entire day. She wasn’t the only one with a blog like that, but certainly one who stuck in my mind.

Another blogger is hawking mugs with photos of fat cells on them.  I don’t think I need a coloured transmission electron micrograph of a bit of fat  tissue.  Call me old fashioned but give me a mug with a cat or a cartoon character or both on it and I’m pretty happy.

Then there is a woman in the UK touting gastric sleeve surgery.  I have mixed feelings about bariatric surgeries like gastric bypass and lap band-type procedures, but this surgery frightens me the most as it removes 75% of the stomach and it is irreversible.  I just can’t help thinking that the money spent could be better used teaching someone better eating habits or hiring a trainer to keep them moving.  Granted it’s supposed to only be available to people who have serious weight related health issues, who have exhausted other avenues, but it seems so drastic.  I also know people who have had bariatric procedures who have managed to “override” the system if you will once they figure out that they can eat large quantities of calorie dense foods only slower or in the form of milkshakes or even “health” drinks.

Maybe it’s just my mood today and my swollen glands and pounding head, because I shouldn’t be surprised that there are so many people unhappy, hurting and self loathing, but I am.  It saddens me that they are so many unhappy people who are fixated on fat and body size.  That’s not to say that there aren’t fat positive writings or forums like this one for living healthy whatever size, and I won’t lie and say that I don’t ever have days when I think my life would be very different if I weighed a lot less than I do, but overall I’m happy, I laugh, I love, I live in the world and not on it’s margin and I live with the knowledge that there are people in this world who appreciate me and care about me.

Now back under my woobie and hopefully I will feel a little more human tomorrow.

– the Goddess

One response to “Bring Me My Woobie! STAT!

  1. kim says:

    Hope you are feeling better! 🙂 I have a friend who had gastric band surgery a while ago and it’s helped him to lose weight, although it takes about 1/2 cup of food to fill him up and if he drinks anything fizzy, or tries to eat more than that he throws up. It’s really taken all the joy out of eating for him, even though he tries to eat really yummy food when he does eat.

    I’m not sure how I feel about it either, it seems rather invasive and counter productive for the body, but some have sworn by it. I think you are perfect the way you are, you are one of the brightest and funniest people I know 🙂 I totally understand however, I’ve been heavy all my life too and it does weigh on your spirit after a while. I’ve been more unhappy than happy these days, mostly because I can’t figure it out! LOL Much love! ❤

Leave a Reply

