The Goddess Weighs In

Living Large and Healthy

Tell Me Again How Easy It Is

on January 5, 2013

I must admit that I am experiencing a bit of schadenfreude these days.  A couple of people who in the past have been somewhat judgmental and have not understood that it can be difficult to adopt new habits and lose weight have themselves gained a fair bit of weight and seem to be struggling with it.

One of them once berated me at length for my lack of self control and told me that after their vacation they had just eaten a little bit less to lose those 5 pounds they gained and if I just put my mind to it, I could do the same.  This wasn’t the first or the last person who’s said something like that to me, but they were by far the nastiest when they were saying it.  And so as I see their girth increase a part of me wants to point at their wobbly bits and ask them to show me just how easy it is to lose weight.

The problem of course is that I’ve been there, I am there, and I know how hard it can be to crawl back up that slippery slope.  I didn’t get fat in an afternoon.  It took years to get where I am.  Years filled with upset, discomfort, hurt feelings, self loathing and ill fitting clothing.  So while part of me is taking a certain amount of pleasure from their misfortune the rest of me wants to give them a hug and help them get back on track to health and happiness.

I probably won’t cuz, ya know they were mean to me and all, but I’m thinking about it.

– the Goddess

Leave a Reply

