The Goddess Weighs In

Living Large and Healthy

Judgment of Paris. . .

on January 17, 2013

I stumbled across this on the internet a while ago (http://www.judgmentofparis.com/gallery/wrong-century.jpg)

wrong-century

While it turns out that the painting she is looking at is actually Rape of the Daughters of Leucippus (Reuben, 1618) and not the Judgement of Paris,  if we consider that the women in the  painting were considered beautiful when the painting was created, then it doesn’t change the poignancy of the cartoon.  I am not pro-fat.  I want to see people at a healthy weight, and physically fit, but I also feel very strongly that whatever shape or size everyone should be welcome to live their lives.  All too often plus size people live on the margins.  We stay in our safe zones, we stay out of the way and we don’t venture very far from home.

This is not the life I want, nor is it the life I lead.

Granted, I would like to be more active, do more travelling, try more extreme sports, but I do choose to live in and of the world and I hope that if nothing else my ramblings encourage others to do the same.

– the Goddess

 

Leave a Reply

