The Goddess Weighs In

Living Large and Healthy

Product Review 0004 – Yoga Mind & Body – Ali MacGraw

on January 29, 2013

Yoga Mind & Body with Ali MacGraw, 1994/2001/2003

alimcgraw

Find it here.

This is my favourite yoga DVD.

The original release of this yoga workout was in 1994, but I bought it from The Shopping Channel circa 1997.  It was a VHS tape and it was a special deal that came with a book by Erich Schiffmann, the yoga master who narrates the video. I never read the book, but I immediately loved the look and feel of this workout.  A couple years ago I was able to find a DVD copy on Amazon.ca and I quickly snatched it up.

Shot in the dessert with white sand and a lovely orange sun I would no doubt be miserable if I was there in person doing this work out, with sand in every orifice and sweat dripping off me in a less than feminine way, but I still think the video looks absolutely stunning.  Some might complain that some of the shots move or pan quickly, but the production value is quite high for an exercise video and the narration is clear and calm. I also like that the celebrity of Ali MacGraw is not overdone.  She is known for her practice of yoga and she lithely moves through the poses as a regular practitioner would, unlike some celebrity videos where it often feels like the routine is being learned while they film.

This video is not designed for an absolute beginner, however, I’ve always been able to follow along and move through the poses.  As yoga is based on doing as much as you can do and going only as far as you can go comfortably go and understanding that each step in a pose has value, the beginner does not need to be shown a number of variations which can make similar videos seem choppy or repetitive.

I did the video the other night and unlike other older videos in which the clothing and look of the people can quickly become out of date this video does not give me that impression. My only real issues with this video are that there is only one and not a full series, and that now it’s nearly impossible to find.  If you are fortunate to find it second hand or on Amazon be sure to grab it.

I give it 9.5 out of 10 goddesses.

– the Goddess

Leave a Reply

