The Goddess Weighs In

Living Large and Healthy

I Think I Love You!

on February 14, 2013

I think I am in love.  It’s a total surprise.  Here I was planning a threesome tonight with Ben & Jerry (http://fearnoweebles.wordpress.com/2013/02/11/a-non-valentine/) and I suddenly realized that I just couldn’t do it.  I couldn’t enjoy meaningless pleasure with them when my heart was somewhere else.

It’s so hard to meet someone who has similar or complementary interests, who shares or compliments your world views, wants kids, likes or tolerates your eclectic musical tastes and gets your sense of humour.  It’s even harder to find all that and click.  That magical, elusive click that one can’t define or pin point or even understand, but when you experience it it is a wonderful and terrifying mix of excitement and exhilaration.  You feel so good you’re as high as a kite. And you can’t believe your good fortune that this perfect soul, this new, wonderful, brilliant, funny, gorgeous, perfect in every way creature loves you too.

For some the click or the the flash of love is instant or almost so and seems to pop up out of nowhere like a freak storm drenching you before you have a chance to grab your umbrella or duck under an awning.  And for some of us it’s more of a slow burn.  Miles and miles of fuse, a spark working its way along, blocked at different stages, slowed by obstacles, delayed by distance or conditions, but then one day that spark reaches the device and there is a flash of clarity.  Suddenly you know, you just know, that your heart has opened and let this person in and that you can no longer live your life without being close to them, touching them, enveloping them with the entire essence of your being.

This slow burn is what has happened to me.  I thought it would be nice, it was a good idea on paper, but for a long time I just wasn’t feeling it.  I just wasn’t sure it would ever work out and one can never predict the click.  But there it was.  I fell in love.  I fell in love with someone who isn’t perfect, who could be a bit taller, a bit thinner, a bit less messy.  I fell in love with someone who has flaws and shortcomings and who can be a downright pain in the ass.  But I also fell in love with someone with a wicked sense of humour, a creative mind and a pretty smile.

I fell in love with myself and I couldn’t be happier.

6 responses to “I Think I Love You!

  1. This totally seems to be ‘the’ theme of today, everywhere I look, including my own Valentine’s Day post! Kudos to you for discovering this truth: that we are incapable of truly loving others until we indeed love ourselves!

  2. YES! Yes yes yes!! That’s way better than the threesome with B&J!! I am so happy for you. Yayyyyyyyyyyyyy!!

  3. […] the Reader and read a couple of posts to see what was what. The reason I nominate her is because of this post and […]

  4. mj2013 says:

    I really liked this post, so I have nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award!
    http://clearlywriting.wordpress.com/2013/03/04/versatile-blogger-me/

Leave a Reply

