The Goddess Weighs In

Living Large and Healthy

Giving Myself Permission To Take It Easy

on April 27, 2013

Last weekend and into this week I was sick.  I had a sore throat, congestion and that general “hit-by-a-truck” feeling.

I had a doctor’s appointment to check my blood pressure, but instead she swabbed my throat and she was pretty sure I had the flu, thankfully without the ickier symptoms.

I was upset because it meant not seeing my boyfriend who doesn’t have the luxury of sick days and it meant that I missed the birthday party of an old friend.  On the upside I enjoyed bumping around my house last weekend.   I was able to work on some of my challenges, but for the most part I was resting and sleeping and laying about and I highly recommend it.  I rarely make the time to just relax.  Even when I meditate I have to fight the urge to speed up the process.  And it’s not like I’m the head of a Fortune 500 organization.  I’m just an average person with a lot of friends and a lot of hobbies and interests and my days are full and my weeks fly by.  I also come from a family where everyone always seems to be busy and, I suppose blame the Protestant Work Ethic, if we’re not doing something or planning something or offering to help with something then we feel immense guilt.

This week and last weekend I fought against the need to always be busy and I stood still for a while.  The dishes piled up, the laundry piled up, and the vacuum refused to submit to my Jedi mind trick so my place was a little worse for wear, but it really wasn’t the end of the world.  No one was injured in an avalanche of dirty clothes, my living room did not become a dust bowl, and I wasn’t much for eating so I didn’t notice that I was running low on spoons.  I still felt ill part of the week, but on Monday I was rested enough to go to work and contribute.  I wasn’t up to going for my dance lesson on Monday night and I cancelled my plans for Tuesday night and I just puttered.  Sadly when I’m congested the CPAP isn’t perfect and I don’t sleep as well as I could, but I still slept and it felt pretty good.

Of course this weekend I’m back to running in circles and I’m about to dash off to pick up a friends car and house keys so I can pick up her kids at a family wedding and bring them home and put them to bed while my friend and her husband enjoy some grown up time.  Not exactly relaxing, but I might get in some knitting time once the kids are in bed and I’m going to attempt to work some more time to “stare at the wall” into my schedule.  I don’t recommend getting the flu or being forced into relaxation, but I am going to work on giving myself permission more often to just hang loose.

– the Goddess

Leave a Reply

