The Goddess Weighs In

Living Large and Healthy

Random Thoughts From A Motel Room In Georgia

on June 16, 2013

I’m 4 hours from my destination, 5 miles from the “Welcome To Florida” sign and I decided to stop for the night.

  • This is the first time in a while that I’ve put my health before my wallet.  Normally I do this trip in two days and I’m worn out and overtired and can barely walk on the third day.  This time the Goddess of Today was nice to the Goddess of Tomorrow and that feels pretty good.
  • I decided to mix things up with a new hair cut. My hair is normally quite short, but I wanted a little more style, a little more zing, and I really like Miley Cyrus’ new cut with the shaved sides and longer on top so that’s what I got. . .only my hair is already so short that well, it looks pretty much the same as it always looks.  Eventually I will grow into the cut, but for now I’m just going to have to be a rebel on the inside until the outside catches up
  • I went to the doctor last week to change my blood pressure medication since my feet are swelling badly with the current medication.  It turns out that there are really only two choices for me at this point and because I was going away she couldn’t put me on the other medication because she would need to test, I think she said my liver function, about 10 days after I start the meds which would be while I was away.  This other medication also comes with it’s own side effect which is a persistent cough.  I’m really not sure which is worse, the swelling or the coughing, but either way it renews my determination to find ways to naturally reduce my blood pressure
  • I tried the new Egg White Delight McMuffin this morning.  I don’t think this is available in Canada yet, but it’s pretty good and lower in calories and calories from fat than the traditional egg mcmuffin.  What I can’t figure out is that with such rampant obesity here and in Canada why fast food restaurants aren’t offering healthier choices in general rather than the fried and processed food which overwhelms their menus.

– the Goddess


Leave a comment