The Goddess Weighs In

Living Large and Healthy

Putting Some Hula In My Hoop and Other Stuff

on July 6, 2013

This is my new hula hoop. (Please ignore the wrinkled back drop and Miles A. Cat photo bombing.)

IMG091 hula 0  IMG092 hula 1

As is this.

IMG093 hula 2

I haven’t accomplished this challenge yet, since I need to actually learn how to use the hula hoop, but I love that I was finally able to find a weighted hoop (in a Marshall’s in Florida!), and that it comes apart for easy carrying and storage.  I can definitely see travelling with this in the future.  Alas much like roller skating, hula hooping is not quite like “riding a bike” and I tried for over an hour when I bought the hoop a few weeks ago and I couldn’t get it going.  Just trying however was a real work out and once I shake this lung infection and I can breathe normally again I will be trying once more to put some hula in my hoop.

I also made myself some practice poi from tennis balls and a pair of tights.  Long socks were suggested, but I couldn’t find any, so I substituted purple tights.  They may be a little stretchy for poi so I may need to rethink my choice, but good enough to get me started.  I’ve found several youtube.com videos for beginners, so again, once I can breathe more readily I will be poi-ing my heart out in the back yard.

For now my lung infection has side tracked most of my challenges, but I am looking up vegan recipes, slow cooker recipes and when the mood strikes I’m knitting.  I’m more than half way to 40 hats and I must say that feels pretty good.

I was also thrilled that my challenges inspired another blogger http://bulgingbuttons.wordpress.com/ to create her own challenges.

That’s all for now.

– the Goddess

Leave a Reply

