The Goddess Weighs In

Living Large and Healthy

Fat Girl Versus Lawn Chair

on July 27, 2013

When my ex and I were first together he was invited to a barbecue.  He asked if I wanted to go and I was excited to meet his friends and then I thought about it for a minute and declined the offer. He seemed a bit confused that my initial excitement was replaced with supposed ambivalence, but he didn’t push the subject and he went to the barbecue and I went home.

I like being outside, I like sitting in cafes and people watching, and I like barbecues, but more often than not when offered a seat it is one of those hard plastic one piece numbers or a folding chair and neither is sturdy enough or wide enough to hold someone like me.  Because of this I typically avoid outdoor events, or restaurant patios or if I absolutely cannot escape the invitation I have been forced to stand for long hours or swear profusely that I really love sitting on the back steps or on the ground in order to avoid the embarrassment of people seeing that I don’t fit into the chair they’ve offered or worse I break it.  Folding card chairs are just as bad and whenever I must sit on one I am perched on the edge, my legs in position to propel me forward at the first sign of chair collapse.  Imagine how much fun I have being in essentially a runner’s starting position sometimes for hours at a time.

What really confuses me however is that people still offer me chairs that are obviously not going to fit me or hold me, as if they don’t notice the mismatch between me and the size or the maximum weight load for the chair.  Often people don’t see themselves as they truly are, but if  you’re able to see me and the chair then it shouldn’t be a mystery that I am going to refuse the seat since it’s not going to fit or hold me.  I’ve actually had people insist and make a scene about me having a seat and then we are often both embarrassed when I have to quietly explain to them, that there is no way my rump is going to fit in said chair.

I was lamenting my fate with my friend Sara and she immediately told me about a chair she had found at Giant Tiger.  It’s a wide, sturdy director’s chair and it has a small folding table on one side and series of pockets to hold doodads on the other.  It even has a shoulder strap for easy carrying.

Chair 1

I immediately went out and bought three of them ($29.99 at Giant Tiger). The pictures don’t do it justice, it is quite possibly the best lawn chair I have ever owned plus it folds, it’s reasonably light weight and I found two identical chairs on line and one said it had a weight capacity of 250lbs and another site claimed a weight capacity of 400lbs, but the chairs looked identical.

chair 2

Now when I get invited out I can just grab my trusty chair, put it in the back of the car and avoid worrying about whether or not I will be able to join and enjoy the party like everyone else.

– the Goddess

2 responses to “Fat Girl Versus Lawn Chair

  1. Siobhan says:

    What chair is this?

  2. I don’t know the brand, but I have also seen them at Marshalls in the US.

Leave a Reply

