The Goddess Weighs In

Living Large and Healthy

Clickety Click Crock Pot Trick

on July 28, 2013

Perhaps you are not as great a fan of Barba Papa as I am, but it just seems apt.  

I put this in my crock pot this morning.

IMG106

And a mere 6 hours later I found this bit of magic.

IMG108

Well actually after 6 hours I added some frozen peas and let it cook for another 30 minutes, but still absolutely, undeniably magic happened in my kitchen today and challenge number 12 is complete.

If you happen to be keeping track you will notice I have updated a few of the challenges:

  • I will now be making dinner in my Garden Oasis for “someone special”.
  • I have decided that since I’ve spent the better part of five weeks in bed or laying about my house due to my lung infection, that I have effectively completed the 40 hour  bed in.  Not really, but any more time in bed and laying about and I may just lose my mind so let’s just say good enough.
  • I’m a little off on the fruit challenge, but being sick had a strange effect on my taste buds so some foods tasted horrible. I will do my best to make up for lost…fruit.
  • My friend Joanne continued her quest for saint hood today. She came and weeded my back yard and brought me some much appreciated tasty treats.  I made crock pot stew for her, but I’m thinking a far more substantive reward is due such a good friend.
  • I have completed twenty-nine hats, and I will likely finish thirty sometime today. Ten more to go and then I can move on to cowls.  I’m a wee bit tired of hats right now.
  • I’m not healthy enough to do a lot of the physical stuff just yet, but I am planning on taking a week off in the Fall to make up for the week of holiday I missed due to illness and I think I will spend that week at the YMCA and blitz through some of those challenges like Tai Chi, swimming lessons and drum fit.
  • August 10th is the first day I can sign up for aquacycle classes which run in the Fall, fingers crossed I will get a spot.
  • I’m struggling to find a good place in my house for a meditation area.  I was thinking  a few cushions in the corner of my room , but I’m more inclined to make it in a nice big chair in my living room.  Unfortunately that chair tends to induce napping, so I’m not sure it’s the best spot, but I guess we’ll see.
  • This Fall I plan on volunteering with Habitat for Humanity.  My friend Fiona will be showing me the ropes so we need to coordinate that really soon.  I’m a little worried, having no discernible building skills, but I’m hoping that if I act really enthusiastic they will tolerate me.

– the Goddess

One response to “Clickety Click Crock Pot Trick

  1. First of all, I love barbapapa so props for that. Second of all, anyone can volunteer with Habitat for Humanity. They always need people to do all kinds of things, even making and serving lunch, that sort of thing. I know you know this but that last little tidbit was for your audience 🙂

Leave a Reply

