The Goddess Weighs In

Living Large and Healthy

Product Review 0006 – Maintenance Yoga for Weight Loss (Gaiam)

on September 2, 2013

Find it here.

This package contains a DVD with a 25 minute routine, a bonus routine and a CD with a 4 track motivational program. Although it’s not evident from the box, according to the introduction the routines are designed as a PM or evening yoga to prepare one for a good night’s sleep by opening up the chest for better breathing and aiding in relaxation.  I appreciated that straps and a wedge were used to aid many of the poses as someone like me often needs a bit of help to get into a deeper stretch and overall the routine was challenging, but not so much so that I couldn’t do it or at least modify it slightly to suit my abilities.   The bonus piece on the DVD was a little more challenging, but still within my abilities which was nice.

The audio program didn’t really do much for me.  I thought it was supposed to be motivational and listened to once one was in bed, but then it started to give instructions for poses.  Also Suzanne Deason has a decent voice for instruction, but it’s not exactly soothing.  While I understand that James Earl Jones isn’t likely to appear on a yoga CD he would have been more to my taste.

Overall the routines were good and I didn’t pay extra for the motivational CD so I give it 7 out of 10 goddesses.

– the Goddess

Leave a Reply

