The Goddess Weighs In

Living Large and Healthy

Product Review 0010 – McDonald’s Mediterranean Veggie Wrap

on September 15, 2013

Recently McDonald’s released two vegetarian wraps, the Mediterranean Veggie Signature McWrap and the Santa Fe Veggie Signature McWrap.  Tonight I got to try the Mediterranean.

veggie hero_mediterraneen_en

 

I’m pleased that I can go through the drive through and there is a non-burger, non-bacon choice, sadly I wish this one tasted better.  

The Mediterranean has a lot of red onion which I can live with or pick out, but it also has something called “Lemon Crispy Onions”.  I didn’t find they had a lot of taste, but part way through the wrap I noticed an odd crunchy texture that wasn’t bad, but wasn’t particularly good.  It felt like there were crushed corn chips in the wrap and it was only when I checked out the website and the nutritional information that I could identify what I was eating.  They did add some texture, but they are fried and not particularly tasty so not a positive addition to the wrap.  I was surprised, when I looked at the nutritional information, to see that the sodium content was as high as it was in the McWrap.  Granted not as high as other McDonald’s products, but had I not looked it up I would not have thought it was that high and for someone who needs to be careful of their sodium intake this is perhaps not the best choice.

In a pinch it’s better than most of the other options in a fast food restaurant, but I’m not sure that I am going to rush back to have another Mediterranean wrap or to try the Sante Fe wrap.  Overall it was just fine.  I give it 5 out 10 goddesses.

– the Goddess

 

 

3 responses to “Product Review 0010 – McDonald’s Mediterranean Veggie Wrap

  1. After reading this, I had to go google and see how many carbs, etc, these had. I always love how fast food restaurants like to make you think you’re getting something healthier than you really are.

    Here’s how the Santa Fe compares to the Big Mac:

    The Santa Fe Signature McWrap contains 490 calories, 24 grams of fat, 56 grams of carbohydrates, 980 mg of sodium, 8 grams of fibre and 15 grams of protein.

    To compare, a Big Mac contains 540 calories, 29 grams of fat, 44 grams of carbohydrates, 1,020 mg of sodium, 3 grams of fibre and 24 grams of protein.

    Once again, think I will pass on McDonald’s! lol

    • Unreal! Thanks for going that step further. Except that it’s vegetarian it makes a Big Mac look “not that bad” and I haven’t had a Big Mac in years because I can feel my arteries clog with each bite.

      • I usually try to stay away from McD’s altogether, because I eat low-carb. However, I did reach a desperation point a couple of months ago, and got a couple of cheeseburgers, which I ate without the bun, but won’t do it again for a long time because I felt horrid for days after. lol

Leave a Reply

