The Goddess Weighs In

Living Large and Healthy

Uno, Dos, Tres. . . . Cinco, Seis, Siete. . .

on September 20, 2013

Last Saturday night my friends and I went Salsa dancing at Lula Lounge in Toronto.  I’ve been trying to organize a monthly outing with friends and friends of friends which involves some kind of movement like dancing or bowling or trampolining as opposed to getting together and sitting around in a restaurant or pub.  I quite enjoy sitting around gabbing with friends, but as someone who wants to and needs to be more active in general sitting around for an evening eating and drinking is not helping me realize my goals.

So first up was salsa dancing.  As happens so often when one tries to organize a group of people, those who suggested the activity weren’t able to make it and some people forgot and others just didn’t show, but I was determined to go anyway and show people that I was serious about getting us up and moving.

Lula Lounge offers a prix fixe dinner starting at 7pm  or you can pay a $15 cover to get in for the dancing and the show.  Around 9 a professional dancer from a local dance studio teaches the group some basic Salsa  moves plus the Pachanga and then just as the dance lesson is wrapping up around 10:30 the band begins to play.

I have to admit as someone who does not dance regularly the lesson tired me out.  It was fun, but after about 40 minutes my hips were starting to ache.  This however is not an admission of defeat** it is a battle cry for “de feet” to get moving more!

I searched for the basic steps so I can practice at home and it appears we learned the LA Style which starts on the one.

la_on1sm

There are other styles of Salsa which apparently start on the two, but I don’t really think it matters as long as you’re moving.

It was a great night out for everyone, the people were friendly and accommodating and I am definitely going to organize another night of Salsa for my friends, sooner than later. The main goal of getting people out is to try new things and get people moving.  I am really pleased that my friends liked the idea of getting out and being active and I’m enjoying coming up with ideas and hearing the ideas of others.  Next up will either be a haunted walking tour of Toronto or bowling.  Other ideas for active outings include a day at the beach, learning poi and hula hooping, swimming, yoga in the park led by a friend, and if I can time it just right a picnic when the cherry blossoms bloom in the Spring.

If you’d like to organize you’re own outing group Facebook is probably the easiest way to go and if you have suggestions for group activities please share, I’d love to get some ideas.

– the Goddess

** The only joke I knew as a little kid:

KNOCK KNOCK.

Who’s there?

Defeat!

Defeat who?

De feet on that bug sure are big!

What’s truly funny about this joke is that I only got the pun a couple of years ago.  Sad, but true.

– the Goddess

11 responses to “Uno, Dos, Tres. . . . Cinco, Seis, Siete. . .

  1. What a great idea. It reminds me of how we used to play with out friends when we were kids. We would never sit around and eat!

    On an unrelated note, I’m going to Toronto in a few weeks. Do you have a facebook group or somewhere I can message you? It would be a riot to tag along if the logistics worked out, or is that weird and stalkerish?
    BB

  2. nancytex2013 says:

    Are you in TO, Goddess? Very cool! I am here too! Well, I’m here when I’m not in my other home in Vegas. The Salsa at Lula sounds awesome. I may need to check that out!

    And, if you do set up yoga in the park or other fun activities I’d love to hear about it and maybe drop in! 🙂

    Nice job on finding cool and interesting physical activities! Love it!

  3. nancytex2013 says:

    p.s. When I saw the title of your post, I thought of the song by The Offspring, Pretty Fly for a White Guy. Uno, Dos, Tres, Quatro, Cinco, Cinco, Seis… 🙂

  4. Haha so cute! Such a fun idea–have you tried swing dancing classes?

Leave a Reply

