The Goddess Weighs In

Living Large and Healthy

I Wash My Hands Of You

on October 11, 2013

It may surprise you to know that I have a handful of friends who I have known since Kindergarten.  In fact I met them before Kindergarten because I was four and back in the day we started school at 5.  We may lose track of each other from time to time, but when we come together there is a fondness and a caring that is stronger then pretty much any other platonic relationship I’ve had in my life.  There is a certain comfort, a certain safety and a profound trust that comes not only from knowing someone for 35 years, but also from sharing your formative years and knowing that no matter what mask you show the world, your childhood friends see right through it.

I had dinner with one of these friends recently and we were talking about relationships.  He seems to always be in a state of flux, largely by choice, but I was lamenting the number of guys I meet who just want sex or stand me up or call from time to time,  but never actually follow through on plans.  He told me about some of his conquests and I chided him for being a pig and he told me that he figures that even when he screws up that he is permitted one do over, but after that it’s her fault if she let’s him screw her around.  Other friends have basically told me the same thing and to just not take the calls of my ne’er do well following, but when he said it, it suddenly clicked.  Be it a need to be polite or a need for some attention or an irrational hope that this time will be different I keep letting these guys wind me up and waste my time.

Just this week I’ve had two propositions from guys I once dated.  To be clear I did honestly think we were dating at the time, but then I can be pretty naive when it comes to matters of the heart.  These are both guys who were looking for a good time and didn’t much care about me.  One was notorious for standing me up or arriving several hours late for dates, the other after dating for a few weeks told me in no uncertain terms, that it was only my form for which he was warm.  In fact when he emailed me this week he inquired after my massive booty and was surprised when I didn’t take that as a compliment.  This is not the first time these guys, and others like them have tried to reconnect with me and no I’m not bragging, in fact anything but.  The problem is not actually them, the problem is that I keep letting them back, I keep taking their calls, and I never outright tell them to stop contacting me.

They are wasting my time when I could be seeing real friends or working out or sleeping and I have decided that once and for all this will stop.  I am washing my hands of the toads, the frogs, and the ill behaved princes who disrespect my time and my person.  I am no princess, in fact I can be a downright pill once you get to know me, but I’m no serf and I will not be treated as such.  Any more.

– the Goddess

9 responses to “I Wash My Hands Of You

  1. nancytex2013 says:

    Good for you! Brava Cynthia!

  2. I have recently decided the same!! It’s like guys don’t want to date anymore, they’re only looking for sex, and I am so sick of being treated crappy. I have better things to do with my time! You go girl!

  3. Don Smith says:

    It’s about time you wrote about me! Remember ladies… Guys want most what they can’t have! 😉

  4. It’s quite liberating to not only figure that out, but then follow through with it the next time one of those situations comes up. Good on you, and stick to it!
    BB

  5. rose pilotti says:

    Amen!

Leave a Reply

