The Goddess Weighs In

Living Large and Healthy

Stir That Pot!

on October 27, 2013

Last night I went to FitZonePLUS for a workshop on Burlesque dancing and while I don’t see a future for myself on the stage, I did have a lot of fun.

If you’re in the GTA, the studio recently moved to their Danforth Avenue location just a block East of the Chester subway station at Logan Avenue on the south side of Danforth. The class was from 7-9 pm on a Saturday night, which made parking a bit of a challenge, but I was lucky to find a spot just a block away.  Sadly the location is downstairs which means that it is not accessible and the space is a bit tight at the bottom of the stairs, but the studio itself is large and spacious and it’s newly renovated, in fact there was still painter’s tape on some of the walls.

When I walked into the studio there were several chairs arranged in rows and each was draped with a pink feather boa.  If you’ve ever worn a boa you will know that they are hot and that they drop feathers constantly so most of us abandoned them for the lesson, but even so it looked like a bright pink turkey had exploded in the studio as we danced. I’m not sure how many attended the class but I would estimate that there were about twenty women of all shapes, sizes and ages.

Our instructor Rachel, a beautiful 6 foot tall woman with curves in all the right places, oozed confidence and sensuality as she taught us the Burlesque basics and a four minute routine set to Lady Marmalade, the version with Pink.  I doubt I could remember the whole routine, but I did pick up some fun moves and Rachel assured us that if we ever forgot where were we could just go back to the basic move which is a sultry figure eight of the hips called “stirring the pot”.  I shan’t repeat where she suggested we hold our imaginary spoons 😉

Burlesque is definitely easier for the longer or thinner legged gals as I had to modify a section that included sitting backwards on a chair and then pushing the chair out and standing up quickly.  In my defense it was a sturdier chair with a seat that widened at the front, but still not really a move meant for me.  She also showed us another move that was quite sexy and involved sitting on the edge of the chair and sort of crossing one’s legs over and over again.  Again not my move, but perhaps something I could work towards or for which I could figure out a modification.

As part of the workshop there was wine, veggie and fruit trays and delicious cupcakes.  I’m not actually a sweets person, but I made an exception and I was quite happy with the chocolate cake and whipped cream frosting and I went back for seconds of the beautifully laid out fruit.  I had a 40 minute drive after the class plus I didn’t eat beforehand because I didn’t want to be full while dancing so I chose not to drink, and instead I opted for the flavoured water.  After the class I went across the street and grabbed a pita, a definite bonus of having a studio in the heart of Greek town.

Perhaps it was two hours of evoking my sensual side or just that my back was feeling pretty good after all those figure eights, but I walked to my car with confidence and despite my yoga pants which were not deemed to be terribly sexy earlier in the day, a man walked up to my car window and told me that I was a fine looking woman and that he would like to know me better.  I have to admit that being approached like that typically freaks me out a bit and leaves me tongue tied and I ended up smiling and thanking him and trying to get away from him as soon as possible, but it was still a nice ego boost after two hours of struttin’ my stuff.

They taped our routine so if and when it’s posted I will be sure to share it with you. I really liked the atmosphere at FitZonePLUS and while it’s too far away for me to be a regular customer I will be watching for future workshops and events.

– the Goddess

8 responses to “Stir That Pot!

  1. That sounds like fun. I so admire your confidence. I really don’t think I would set foot in a brand new workout space without a friend and do a class. Group exercise terrifies me!
    BB

    • I am the same, but when I signed up for the class no one could or wanted to go with me and I just decided I wasn’t going to let that stop me this time. Pre-paying also helped because I was pretty tired earlier in the day and if I hadn’t committed to go I might have backed out. Also this was a challenge so I wanted to check it off my list which helped.
      I am one of those strange people who has no difficulty talking to 500 people and keeping them engaged, but at a cocktail party I just about swallow my tongue trying to make the simplest of conversation. I definitely stepped out of my comfort zone for this one and I even made a point of introducing myself to a woman who came in late and took the seat beside me and we chatted a bit at the break.
      If I can inspire anything in people it’s to push the edges of one’s comfort zone because I had a really good time last night.

  2. nancytex2013 says:

    Good for you Cynthia! This is something I’d like to try, but I’ve always chickened out, fearing that I’d look ridiculous doing it. You’ve inspired me to move past my own stupid need to be good at stuff without even giving myself a chance to be a learner.

  3. That sounds like a lot of fun! It makes me realize that there are all sorts of fun things I could try that weren’t an option for me prior to my recent hip replacement. In the last 48 hours I ran for a bus and bent down far enough to tie my shoes — both things I have not been able to do for years. I think it will soon be time to go dancing 🙂

Leave a Reply

