The Goddess Weighs In

Living Large and Healthy

Random Thoughts While I’ve Battled The Flu And General Malaise

on November 30, 2013

This year I got the flu shot.  It seemed like a good idea since I had a bad respiratory infection this summer from which I am still recovering and while the flu shot may not eliminate the risk of flu it is supposed to greatly reduce the severity of the illness.  This is true and my last couple of weeks have been more of an ordeal than a battle, but it makes for a snappier title.  Other than having to make a quick exit from a Go Bus last week I’ve managed and the “hit by a truck” feeling was much reduced than from previous bouts of the flu, but I wouldn’t say this last week or so has been that much fun.

  • I finished 40 hats!  FINALLY! However, I must knit one more as my friend Sara is very attached to one in particular and Christmas is coming.  And I have to knit another one because my Go bus driver Kathleen took a great interest in the hats I was furiously knitting every day and I gave her one for Christmas.  So um 40 were made, but I have to replace two.  When I get them done, I will share photos and get them donated.
  • I am looking forward to my staycation in December when I can cross off more of my challenges.  The goal is to be done by my birthday.  Technically I didn’t define all of my 40 challenges until into April, but they are doable before that, and I don’t want to play the “technically” game.
  • Toronto has been in the news of late for the ever sad and surprising “antics” of Mayor Rob Ford. Typically when asked where I’m from I say Toronto since it’s more likely that someone will know of it.  Now I am grateful I am actually from Mississauga.  Mayor Ford has admitted to, among other things, illegal drug use and we’ve all see evidence of his  inappropriate behaviour, but regardless of what I think of him it saddens me greatly that people have chosen to focus on his weight.  He  was overweight when the citizens of Toronto elected him, but now suddenly in the midst of scandal people are focusing on it and terms like “fat slob” have been bandied about.  I can’t and won’t defend any of his actions, but I feel it is completely unfair to lump his weight issues in with them.
  • The days are getting shorter and I am struggling with my desire to hide under a woobie until Spring, but I am making a concerted effort to get to the Y more often and to find some sunshine every day.  I’m also taking vitamin D again and I think it’s helping.
  • I’m going through my clothes again this season and parting with clothes that no longer fit or that I don’t wear.  As a plus sized person I know how hard it can be to find things that fit, regardless of price, so I feel good when I can donate gently used clothing and I like to imagine that it finds a good home with someone who can feel good wearing something that is flattering.

– the Goddess

5 responses to “Random Thoughts While I’ve Battled The Flu And General Malaise

  1. What’s a woobie? is it some special Canadian winter thing? I’d have to say you’re making me feel completely lazy – 40 hats! It’s spring here and I seem to sit out on the terrace in the sun or potter around pulling out weeds when I should be working. I did manage to eat some strawberries fresh from the garden and plant pumpkin and cucumber seeds. That’s something, I guess.

    • Lol. A woobie is a blankie. If you’ve ever seen the 1983 movie Mr. Mom the one son has a blanket that the father is trying to take away from him and the child lovingly refers to it as his woobie. Not a Canadian thing, just one of those expressions that gets bandied about in my family. Definitely jealous of your strawberries, but I’m hopeful that this year will be a white Christmas 🙂

  2. nancytex2013 says:

    Hey Cynthia, I hope you are on the mend and feeling much better. I had a rough, rough week last week as well. So I can fully commiserate.

    Congrats on knocking a couple of items off your 40 challenge. Well done!

    On the Rob Ford thing though — I completely disagree that it’s the people of Toronto focusing on his weight. It’s Rob Ford himself, along with his caravan of crazy enablers (brother, mother, sister, et al) who are focusing on his weight.

    All the mayor has talked about it, in terms of getting better/working on his problems, is “being the gym for 3 hours a day”, having trainers, etc.

    And if you haven’t watched the CP24 Stephen LeDrew interview with Diane Ford (mother) and Kathy Ford (sister), please do: http://www.cp24.com/news/ford/ford-s-mother-heartbroken-over-controversy-surrounding-mayor-1.1532938.

    The mother thinks his single biggest problem is getting his weight under control. The woman is a creepier version of Tony Soprano’s mother.

    I believe, most people (in and out of Toronto) were appalled that anyone would consider Ford’s weight to be his issue here. It’s clear to the thinking person that he has a substance abuse issue, impulse control issues, not to mention anger management issues. His weight doesn’t impact his ability to act as mayor of North America’s 4th biggest city. The other 3 do.

    Rant over.
    xoxo nancy

    • More than one of the late night hosts pointed out his weight in his list of “issues”. Is the argument that he feels so bad about his weight that he “self-medicates”? Hard to say. Thanks for the clip, I’ll check it out tonight!

      • nancytex2013 says:

        Again though, I think any of the parodies or jokes in late night were in direct response to what the mayor himself was saying. i.e. Jokes are funny because they are anchored in truth. Just like when Tina Fey portrayed Sarah Palin as an idiotic buffoon incapable of a decent response to a reasonable political question — it was only funny because actual news clips showed that this was exactly how Palin behaved/spoke/carried herself.

        Ford made this about weight, to deflect away from the real issue.

Leave a Reply

