The Goddess Weighs In

Living Large and Healthy

On The Third Day Of Christmas. . .

on December 27, 2013

My true love gave to me three French hens, well ya know supposedly.  For her third day present I gave my mom a bottle of French wine which serendipitously has chickens on the label.  I have to admit she is somewhat frustrated by the Twelves days of gifts because despite my labelling each gift with a tag that specifically says which day a particular gift is to be opened she feels that she should be allowed to open all of her gifts at once.  I should have foreseen this, my mom is kind of like that, and to be honest I’m not sure that when I see her next there won’t be a pile of presents that are either open or visibly re-wrapped, but she did think the idea of celebrating the Twelve Days was very creative and thoughtful so I can live with that.

three french hens

Image credit

For the third day of Christmas, December 27, I want to do it like the French do.  Get your mind out of the gutter please, I’m talking about eating.  It is generally accepted that the average person living in France eats a diet rich in fat and subsequently flavour.  The difference is that while their meals tend to incorporate rich sauces, cream, dessert and wine they do not eat to excess.  What you eat today is not important, but be mindful of what you’re eating.  Focus on how your food tastes.  Enjoy it, savour it, and try to stop eating when you’re sated as opposed to when your plate is clean or  when it’s all gone, easier said than done perhaps, but I’m going to try it.

– the Goddess

3 responses to “On The Third Day Of Christmas. . .

  1. nancytex2013 says:

    La Vielle Ferme? I like that one too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

