The Goddess Weighs In

Living Large and Healthy

The Goddess Belts Out The Tunes

on January 19, 2014

Last night I took a couple of friends with me and we sang our hearts out at a Karaoke place uptown fulfilling Challenge 11.

When I put karaoke on my list I assumed that one had to get up in front of a bar full of people and sing like one sees in the movies, but when I started asking friends to recommend a place to go their first question was whether I wanted a bar setting or private rooms.  My friends and I opted for a venue with private rooms and singing in front of them was enough of a challenge, but they were very forgiving and we all had a blast.

We went to a place called Twister Karaoke near Yonge and Finch in Toronto and while it was recommended I’m not sure I would return to that particular establishment.  My one friend and I had the distinct feeling that karaoke was the legitimate front business for something untoward. It was only a feeling, and the people were nice, but I think next time I’ll choose another spot.

My one recommendation for karaoke is to have some songs in mind before you go.  We spent a lot of time going through the menu and at times I was disappointed that they didn’t have songs that I knew or a few songs turned out to be much harder to sing than we would have thought when we choose them.  Regardless we had fun and there are already plans to go again.

I didn’t get any pictures while we were singing since it was too dark, but here is a snap from dinner of me trying out my friend Sara’s new ear bling.

Cynthia with ear bling

– the Goddess

5 responses to “The Goddess Belts Out The Tunes

  1. nancytex2013 says:

    Good for you Cynthia! It can be pretty terrifying singing in front of others. Nice job making it happen.

  2. Thanks! I guess now that I’ve passed the first hurdle I will try the big bar style of karaoke. . .or maybe not 😉

  3. tinfoil27 says:

    What was it that you sang?

  4. Sara says:

    Fun times were had by all! Your singing was fabulous and I look forward to our next karaoke adventure 🙂 I say yes to bar-style karaoke next time!

Leave a Reply

