The Goddess Weighs In

Living Large and Healthy

Random Thoughts At The End Of A Seemingly Endless Week

on January 31, 2014

My furnace went kerplunk last weekend and while I am a self actualized, strong, independent, free thinking woman the minute  an appliance starts acting fishy I panic and fret and hope that someone will take pity on a poor maiden and swoop in and save the day.  I’m not particularly proud of this reaction, but it’s there just the same.  I can paint a wall, hang a towel rack, even stop a running toilet with my bare hands, but there are some things around my house that I just don’t understand.  I know I can make a phone call and call in a repair person and had Miles A. Cat and I been on the verge of freezing solid I would certainly have done this, but that could have cost a fair bit of money which is not in my budget right now.  Miraculously whatever was upsetting my furnace righted itself and I was able to sign up for a maintenance contract and I will let the furnace limp along a little while longer until I can take a day off and have someone in,  but listening for the furnace to come on and checking the thermostat every chance I get has made for a stressful week.  It’s finally Friday and I had Monday off because of the furnace and Wednesday off for an appointment and yet this still seems like an incredibly long week

  • I’ve been making my lunches.  Some days my choices are better than others, but for the most part this is helping me keep watch of my sodium and fats and the cost savings are well worth the annoyance of carrying plastic containers around in my purse
  • I’m in the process of giving up caffeine and specifically diet pop. . .again.  I’ve been watching Nurse Jackie and honestly I can relate.  The first few days were pretty rough, but I’m starting to feel a bit better.
  • Fat Girl Food Squad is having an Art Show.  If you’re in the Toronto area this weekend you might want to check it out.  According to the Facebook page “Fat In Public is an art show that dares to be just that. Art and it’s creators that have the audacity to be seen in their ample glory. Fat In Public intends to de-stigmatize the (fat) body and give an outlet for art featuring imperfect and sybaritical characters in equal measure. “
  • I am continuing on my quest to stretch more.  I have decided that this means whenever I can wherever I am I am going to stretch.  I’m not dropping into downward dog in the middle of the office, but I am stretching my calves while standing waiting for the photocopier or printer and I’m taking a second to stretch my hamstrings while I lace up my boots and that kind of thing.  I might look ridiculous, but I’m at a point in my life where that matters less and less.
  • It’s a balmy minus three today, but given the number of extreme cold warnings we’ve had in the Toronto area this winter it feels pretty good to not have to bundle up quite so tightly.  Wiarton Willie will be doing his thing on Sunday.  I’m hoping that rodent predicts a swift end to winter because honestly I’ve just about had it.  I don’t mind the cold, in fact I like walking in the cold and feeling the crisp air on my cheeks, but when it’s this bitter the air is cold and thin and skin freezes after a few minutes of exposure so even if you like winter sports it’s a no go most days.

– the Goddess

 

Leave a Reply

