The Goddess Weighs In

Living Large and Healthy

Milestones, Timelines And Other Stuff Like That

on March 12, 2014

Today I turn 41. Today “the Goddess” turns 2. Today is the deadline for my 40 Challenges.

My goal for the challenges was to expand my comfort zone, try new things and declutter my life a bit.  I have definitely made great strides in all of those areas, but I have not finished my challenges.  This doesn’t mean that I’m not going to complete them, but I am going to give myself an extension.

I managed to complete 21 challenges.  Some of those contained 40 parts so I’m going to consider this experience as a win so far and it will be a bigger win when I complete the rest of the challenges.  I’ve been sidelined a couple of times by health issues this year and weather played a factor in some of the challenges, and sometimes poor planning and poor time management screwed me up, but I also recognize that I bit off a little more than I could chew on this one.

This is not a whine or a shirking of responsibility, simply another life lesson that I have to learn.  There are 168 hours in a week and after sleeping, working, and the boring stuff there are only so many hours left to track down horses, schedule lessons and cover the city in knit goods.

Case in point in reducing my craft stash I have so far knit 43 hats, a baby afghan, two cowls, and six dish cloths, plus I have the following on needles – two cowls, a dishcloth, three afghans, and two mittens.  I also have five thumb-less mittens, three of them in the same pink because apparently I’m expecting to run into a three handed woman in my travels.  Actually I don’t judge, a three handed man might like the mittens as well.

These are most of the hats including the lovely Sara modelling her new hat.  (The blue balloon is wearing a cowl and the pink balloon is wearing a scarf hat.)

40 hats

If you are thinking of creating your own challenges I strongly recommend it.  This year I have  met new people, tried new food and fitness choices, and pushed my comfort zone much wider than it’s ever been.  I would offer a couple of caveats however.  Challenges with multiple parts can become daunting, on-going challenges like eating fruit are fine, but can’t be checked off your list until the very end, and attempting a skill is likely better than having to master it.  For example I bought a hula hoop, and I decided that the challenge would be complete when I could get it going.  I would have been happy with one solid revolution, but despite my efforts I’m afraid I’m only moderately better than this little darling.

Perhaps an A for effort, but there is very little hula in my hoop as yet and so the challenge remains.

In the meantime I am planning my challenge for my 41st year.  In some ways it is actually bigger than this challenge, but it will be a more personal journey.  I’ll write about it soon, but think 100 days and you’ll get the idea.

– the Goddess

2 responses to “Milestones, Timelines And Other Stuff Like That

  1. tinfoil27 says:

    Happie Birthday! Congratulations on your challenges. Also I checked out your hats good job on those too. Have a great day!

  2. Thank you, thank you, and thank you 😉

Leave a Reply

