The Goddess Weighs In

Living Large and Healthy

Yeah Well. . .

on April 8, 2014

This weekend John Pinette died.

You may not know his name, but he was in the final episode of Seinfeld and he was well known for his stand up routines which focused on his weight and his love of eating.

Pinette had slimmed down a bit in recent years, but he was still a large man and if his stand up was to be believed he didn’t always make the best choices when it came to food and exercise.  I’m not aware of his cause of death and I did hear one report that indicated that he had a history of drug use, but when I heard the news I have to admit I thought “Yeah, well he was a big man, these things happen.”

He was only in his early 50’s.  I’m in my early 40’s and due to some health issues I’m not getting as much exercise as I should, or as much sleep as I should, and Saturday I had chicken wings for lunch and pizza for dinner so it got me thinking today that “Yeah, well, these things happen to people exactly like ME.”

Overall I make healthier choices, overall I am more fit than others my size.  Overall that’s not saying much right now.

I want to live a long, full, luscious life and I want to die having wrung myself right out until there is nothing but a threadbare, tatter of fabric left.  I don’t want my friends and family to say “Yeah, well…” when my time comes.  I want them to tell stories about how I lived life to the fullest and how they thought I’d live forever.

I’m not going to pontificate that today is the first day of the rest of my life and swear to never eat red meat, fried food or ice cream ever again, but I am going to try every day to be more and more conscious of my actions and how they affect the big picture.  Often times when I skip the gym or eat something rich or fatty I think to myself “oh well, I guess I’ll be fat one more day.”  As if I was going to be magically thin on a Tuesday, but there was a rain delay so now it will happen on a Wednesday instead. The problem is that the longer I think like this the longer I stress my body, the longer I keep from doing things I really want to do like bike riding, flying and even sitting on patios enjoying the sunshine.  I never want to be the person who stresses about every morsel they sample or who worries about how many calories are in toothpaste, but I do need to keep asking myself “What are you waiting for?” and I need to keep responding “Nothing, let’s do it now!”  John Pinette ran out of tomorrows long before he expected to.  I will not let this happen to me.

– the Goddess

 

2 responses to “Yeah Well. . .

  1. nancytex2013 says:

    Don’t let it happen Cynthia. Baby steps. One healthy decision at a time.

  2. Thanks. I don’t plan on it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

