The Goddess Weighs In

Living Large and Healthy

Random Thoughts While I Run Around Like My Hair Is On Fire

on May 14, 2014

I suppose I could have said like a chicken with her head cut off, but that’s a frightful image.  I’m just kind of harried, pardon the pun.

Soon I will go on vacation.  I will sleep until noon, only change out of my bathing suit to go for dinner and I will eschew all alarms and quite possibly all time pieces.  I am dreaming about lying on the beach, floating in the pool and lazing on the couch.  I am counting down and a growing sense of groovy is coming over me, but before I can bliss out completely I have to wrap up things at work.

I like to imagine that I do noble work, that I help people, that my efforts make a difference, but more often than not my regular 9-5 involves s pretty consistent grind of attending meetings, writing letters and following up with clients.  Typically when I go on vacation I must race about finishing up outstanding files, creating enough work for others to deal with in my absence and then when I get back I’m swamped with the fall out.  This time, however, I decided to do things a little differently.  I decided to call forth the panic that usually sets in on my last day and use that force that enables me to work at a dizzying pace to actually get ahead and create some breathing room.  So far so good as I am caught up.  I have a few things that must be done at the last minute but now they are manageable and I believe for the first time since I started this job I will be able to leave for vacation without winding up at the office until the wee hours, intermittently breaking into frustrated tears because I have so much to do and so little time to do it.  I’m not ready to rest on my laurels, but I also know I will be able to leave on time for my vacation and I won’t be packing wet clothes in order to do so.

  • I am going away for two weeks and it’s high time I wrapped up some more of my challenges.  The hula hoop is packed and my travelling companion has agreed not to mock my efforts.  Actually I’m not sure he agreed or more sort of smiled at the thought of me hula hooping.  Perhaps I will practice when he’s sleeping.
  • I am finally going to get some time to write.  There is a novel in me.  I know it, I can feel it.  It might not be any good, in fact it could be absolute pap, but if I don’t put pen to paper we’ll never know.
  • I’ve been switched from a CPAP to an APAP machine.  It’s not clear if insurance will cover the cost of a new machine, nor is it clear if this is the ultimate  solution to my sleep issues, but it’s clear that my pressure wasn’t correct for over a year which could explain a few things.
  • I’ve let my YMCA membership go for a while because I wasn’t using it enough to justify the expense.  I’m away for a bit and all the pools are open so the Summer should be ok, but I think come Autumn I will reactivate my membership.  I didn’t realize how much I would miss it or at least the idea of it and doing aquafit with a pool full of  relative strangers  is still more fun than jogging in the water by myself.

– the Goddess

 

 

 

2 responses to “Random Thoughts While I Run Around Like My Hair Is On Fire

  1. […] Random Thoughts While I Run Around Like My Hair Is On Fire […]

  2. rose pilotti says:

    Have a good trip!

Leave a Reply

