The Goddess Weighs In

Living Large and Healthy

Room For Us All

on July 16, 2014

Today this popped up in my Facebook feed. Apparently J. Crew is now offering a size 000.  No that’s not a typo, I am not self bleeping, that’s actually the size, triple 0.  Essentially it’s an extra, extra, extra small, but since that sounds kind of silly they have opted for a bunch of zeros.  There are those who are voicing concern that offering such a small size will encourage girls and women to  develop eating disorders in order to fit into this new miniature size.  J. Crew has countered that argument by saying they are responding to customer demand.  They cite that petite Asian women may well have a 23 inch waist which equates to the new itty bitty triple zero size.  There are also complaints that offering this new size will be a blow to the already fragile egos of those who are more “average” sized in the size 12ish range and those who are in the plus size range which is essentially size 16ish.

I bet that you can guess which side of the argument I am going to fall on here.

I bet that you are going to guess wrong.

A little known fact is that this Goddess has an MBA. I don’t get to use it much because I’m a little too non-profit for the corporate sector and a little too business for the non-profit sector, but I do know a thing or two about business and a I know a thing or two about people and I think that the arguments here are frankly ridiculous.

J. Crew is a business.  J. Crew has no interest in creating a race of super skinny, Shetland pony sized people.  Rather they have an interest in hawking their wares to the highest bidder.  If there are people coming into their stores asking for smaller sizes then they are going to tap into that market.  It’s not social commentary, it’s not fat shaming,  it’s ECONOMICS.  It’s quite possible that as they say they are trying to attract petite Asian shoppers, and it also possible that they are trying to fit more teens and children into their clothes and quite frankly if they see an opportunity then they have every right to try to capture market share.

I also don’t buy into the notion that if this size is available then girls are going to be more likely to widdle themselves down so that they can fit into it.  There are already super small sizes, there are also naturally super small people who are healthy and who wish to wear clothes that fit them properly.  When I was in high school there was a girl in the year ahead of me who was tiny both in height and in proportion.  It was not unusual to see her walking through the halls sporting the latest Smurf or Care Bear creations because she couldn’t find clothes in her size.  I don’t know if she would have worn a triple zero, but the point is that there are those who do and just as I have every right to be able to dress my size 5X body in fashionable clothes that fit me well so too do those among us who are at the other end of the size spectrum. It reminds me a bit of that saying “Real men like curves, only dogs like bones.”  Sure it’s a bit of fun in a world bombarded with images of rail thin women, but the truth is real men like real women and real women come in all shapes and sizes.

The article in the Star goes on to talk about vanity sizing which for those who don’t know is when clothing manufacturers let out your seams without telling you.  I’ve fallen prey to this myself as I have been wearing the same size for the last 15 years and my weight has fluctuated quite a bit in that time.  I’m not sure that triple zero is an issue of vanity sizing since it does equate it to a 23 inch waist and the implication is that this has not previously been available.  On the issue of vanity sizing I have one suggestion for us all.  Wear clothing that fits and flatters.  I don’t care if my clothes are size quadruple zero or size 1000.  The label is not important.  Whether or not I can button my pants and look good is all that matters.  Perhaps we can avoid this by changing up sizing all together.  Numbers and letters are arbitrary so let’s go with colours and animals.  I’ll take a sweater in purple hamster and I think a skirt in raspberry antelope will do quite nicely.

– the Goddess

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

