The Goddess Weighs In

Living Large and Healthy

Live Long And Prosper

on February 27, 2015

Today we lost Leonard “Mr. Spock” Nimoy.

leonard_nimoy_spock_on_shoulder

Source

My fondest memories are watching Star Trek, the original series in reruns and the movies, with my father and brother. No matter how silly or how schlocky it could get Leonard Nimoy always seemed credible to me.  Of course there is life on other planets, of course they all appear humanoid, of course they all wear spandex jumpsuits and go go boots.  Of course.

I also knew that Leonard Nimoy was so much more than his pointy eared persona, he acted in other roles, he was a writer, a director, a poet and a photographer.  What I didn’t know was that in 2007 he published a series of photographs called The Full Body Project and if I didn’t already love Leonard Nimoy as I do, I would love him solely for this.  He asked plus size, size positive women to pose for him, to open up to his camera and they did so, so beautifully, so majestically, so wonderfully that I was simply in awe as I perused some of his photos this afternoon.

fat circle

The Matisse Circle, The Full Body Project, Leonard Nimoy

Leonard Nimoy was a Renaissance man and today I feel like I have lost a dear friend.

– the Goddess

Leave a Reply

