The Goddess Weighs In

Living Large and Healthy

Cheeky

on April 9, 2015

I had to have blood drawn yesterday and I’m just not a bleeder apparently.

After two failed attempts the tech brought in their ringer, a lovely woman named Evelyn who I believe could get blood from a stone.

As she poked and prodded me, trying to find a decent vein I asked if it was my weight or if I need to drink more water.  She was honest and said “Mostly it’s your weight, it makes it harder to find the veins.”

I said that I am down 30 pounds and that hopefully the next time I need to have blood work done I will be down even more.

She smiled kindly and asked “Oh how much did you weigh before?”

I smiled kindly and responded “Thirty pounds more than I do now.”

She paused for a second and looked at me and we shared a  smile.

– the Goddess

2 responses to “Cheeky

  1. NancyTex says:

    I have had to have blood drawn 5 times in the last week (some medical issues I’m dealing with). The difference between a competent blood draw-er and not is literally night and day. Bruises and pain with one, barely a prick with another.

    • I’m sorry to hear that you’re dealing with medical issues. Definitely there is a difference. I had a family doctor for years who could give an injection and there was no pain, even when I had to have a very long syringe put into my hip. I’ve had other doctors or medical personal give me a shot and you’d think they were driving in nails 😛 As for blood draws, for me the issue is finding the vein. This woman is a true dowser 🙂

Leave a Reply

